Geo Payees

The Geo Payees feature saves the location you're in when you enter a transaction on a mobile device. That way, the next time you're in that location, YNAB saves you time by filling in the payee—as well as the category and account you chose last time. Magic!

In This Article


Enable Geo Payees

To use Geo Payees, you'll need to authorize YNAB to use location information:

iOS

Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad and follow these steps:

  • Scroll down and tap on Privacy.
  • Select Location Services (at the very top). 
  • Make sure Location Services is toggled on/green.
  • Then, scroll down to "YNAB" in the list and choose While Using the App.

Android

Go to Settings & Location to turn on the Location feature.

  • On the home screen, press and hold the YNAB icon.
  • Drag it onto the App info and drop it.
  • Tap "Permissions: Location"
  • Toggle the Location setting on.

Forget Saved Location

When Geo Payees is enabled, each time you enter a transaction using the mobile app, you can choose whether or not to save the location of that payee.

Let’s say you’re at home, and you don’t want to save the location – tap the "x" on the blue location icon.

If a payee pops up and it's associated with the wrong location, tap on it to open your payee list. At the top you'll see a "Near You" section where you can choose to "Forget Location" for that payee.

Raise your hand if the kitchen table is a popular spot to enter transactions... and a Geo Payee location in your list. ✋🏽

iOS

In the Near You section, swipe left on a payee and then tap Forget Location.

Android

In the Near You section, tap Edit and then Forget Location.


Disable Geo Payees

If you'd prefer to select the payee each time you enter a transaction, follow these instructions to disable Geo Payees:

iOS

Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad and follow these steps:

  • Scroll down and tap on Privacy.
  • Select Location Services (at the very top).
  • Make sure Location Services is toggled on/green.
  • Then, scroll down to "YNAB" in the list and change it to Never.

Android

Navigate to your Settings menu, find YNAB under Apps, and adjust the location settings, or use the handy shortcut below:

  • On the home screen, press and hold the YNAB icon.
  • Tap "App Info" or "i", depending on your version of Android
  • Tap "Permissions"
  • Tap "Location" and tap on "Deny" or toggle the location setting off
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us