Close or Delete an Account

When you hover over any of your accounts in YNAB, you'll see an Edit Account icon—which is your ticket to the Close Account or Delete Account button. Which button you see depends on whether or not the account has transaction history.

Close Account

If the account has transaction history, you'll see the Close Account button when you edit the account. We highly recommend closing accounts when this option is available. It will retain the transaction history for your budget—keeping everything running smoothly.

Unless the account balance is zero, closing the account will prompt you to transfer the remaining balance to another account. If you're transferring funds to a new account, you'll need to add the new account first.

If you don't want to transfer funds, you can reconcile the account to ensure your transaction history is accurate. Finish things off by creating a balance adjustment so that your balance is $0.00. 

Balance adjustments on Budget accounts may (naturally) impact your budget. If you're closing a Savings account with a $100 balance and update today's balance to $0, that $100 will be deducted from To be Budgeted.

Delete Account

You'll see the Delete Account option if the account register has no transaction history beyond the starting balance. If there are any other transactions, you'll see the Close Account button instead. 

Now, you could delete all the transactions in the account in order to delete it, but that would have a significant impact in your budget. Trust us—unless you're absolutely sure you want no record of the account history, we recommend closing the account.

What about Scheduled Transactions?

Scheduled Transactions will stop occurring in a closed account to ensure they don't affect your budget. The option to add a new scheduled transaction will now be greyed out, but you will still be able to select "enter now" on existing transactions. To avoid issues with entering these transactions into the closed account (and for some added peace-of-mind) you can opt to delete them completely. 

Where will the account go?

After closing your first account, you'll see a new section for closed accounts—which is where you can re-open an account if you ever need to do so.


Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us