Delete Your YNAB Account

Unlike canceling your subscription, deleting your account will permanently delete all of your budget data—immediately. If you're sure you'd like to take this step, you can:

  • Log in and click on the name of your budget in the top left corner to go to your Account Settings.
    An arrow points to Account Settings in the drop down menu on the left side of the screen.
  • If your trial has expired, click Back to Settings in the upper left corner.
  • Turn off Two-Step Verification if you have it enabled. 
  • Scroll down to the Delete Account section at the bottom.

If you subscribed through the App Store (on an iPhone or iPad), you'll first need to cancel your subscription with iTunes to make sure they don't charge you on the renewal date (Apple handles their own billing, so you can direct billing questions their way as well!).

If you subscribed through YNAB directly, this will automatically end your subscription and trigger a refund for any unused time only if you're on the annual subscription plan.

If you decide you'd like to return to YNAB in the future, you'll be able to create a new account with the same email address.

Data Retention Policy

If your subscription expires—and remains expired for three years—we'll delete your account for you per our data retention policy. A week before we do, we'll send you an email to let you know, just in case you'd like to give YNAB another try!

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.