Close or Delete an Account on Mobile

If you're ready to close or delete an account in YNAB (maybe you've been simplifying?) the process is quick and easy.

In This Article


Close an Account

If an account has any transaction history beyond the starting balance, you'll want to close (not delete!) the account in YNAB. This will maintain the history of that account in your Budget and move the account to a Closed Accounts section at the bottom of the mobile app:

Closed Accounts section at the bottom of the screen

The Process

1

Tap Accounts.

2

Tap the name of the account you'd like to close. 

3

In the upper right corner tap Edit (iOS/iPad), or the three dots and then Edit Account (Android).

4

Tap Close Account.

Edit Account screen with Close Account highlighted in the bottom left corner

5

If the account balance is above zero, you'll be prompted to adjust the balance on the account to zero and then close. Tap Adjust Balance & Close and YNAB will automatically zero out the balance on the account. This may also remove money from your Budget, so be sure to double check your Budget and move money if you need to.

The account is now closed but the history will remain in your Budget. If you ever need to access the transactions in the account, tap Accounts > Closed Accounts > choose the account and you'll be able to view them.


Delete an Account

An account can only be deleted if it has no transaction history beyond the starting balance. If there are any other transactions, you'll want to close the account instead.

Why can't I delete all the transactions and then delete the account?

If an account has transactions beyond the starting balance, deleting them will have a significant impact on your Budget and even in other accounts if money has been transferred between accounts. Closing the account will keep everything in line.

To Delete an Account on iOS:

1

Tap Accounts and then tap the name of the account you would like to delete.

2

Tap the Starting Balance transaction to open it, then tap Delete Transaction.

Delete the Starting Balance transaction

3

In the upper right corner, tap Edit.

4

Tap Delete Account (1) and then Delete (2) to confirm.

Tap to Delete Account on iOS in the bottom left and on the prompt to confirm

To Delete an Account on Android:

1

Tap Accounts then choose the account you'd like to delete from the list.

2

Tap the Starting Balance transaction and then tap Delete Transaction.

Delete the Starting Balance transaction on Android

3

Now, follow the steps above to Close the account.

4

Once the account is closed, you'll see the account name followed by [Closed]. Tap the three dots and Edit Account once more. (If you've navigated out of the account view tap Accounts > Closed Accounts > choose the correct account).

5

Tap Delete Account (1) then Delete (2) to confirm.

Tap to Delete Account on Android in the bottom left and on the prompt to confirm

Scheduled Transactions will continue to occur in closed accounts, which might affect your budget. To make sure that these don't continue, you can delete them from the closed account.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us